July Wrap-Up

Wow! Eleven books this month. What a big deal! No seriously. What a big deal! In the summer, especially in July and August, I tend to read less (about five books maybe) because the season’s heat and activities distract the living crap out of me. To read eleven books is indeed a major situation. I’m happy, guys.

Granted, most of them were audiobooks and ebooks (Yes, I used ebooks, the bane of my reading existence). Whatever! I listened, read, and experienced them.

Fiction

Spinning by Tillie WaldenThe Arrangement by Robyn HardingSwing Time by Zadie SmithRules for Visiting by Jessica Francis KaneNotes from a Black Woman's Diary by Kathleen CollinsVanishing Girls by Lauren OliverTrust Exercise by Susan ChoiWe Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay MejiaOnce Ghosted, Twice Shy by Alyssa ColeLooking for Lorraine by Imani PerryThe Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory

  • Spinning ♥♥♥

A memoir about skating, self-identity, and self crisis written as a graphic novel. Good book. Well worth a shot.

  • The Arrangement (Favorite!) ♥♥♥♥♥

Hue’s Reviews: The Arrangement

  • Swing Time ♥♥♥

Two biracial girls navigate London. One of them narrates her perceptions about the other as they grow. Good writing. A big long for the plot, but still worth a read.

  • Rules for Visiting ♥♥

I’m still trying to figure out the point of this book. A botanist/gardener visits friends and discuss plants. Seriously, that’s the plot.

  • Notes from a Black Woman’s Diary ♥♥♥

Various finished scripts, short stories, and diary entries of the late Kathleen Collins (the first African-American female director to release a movie) make this book. She had so much talent and would have gone far.

  • Vanishing Girls ♥♥

Two sisters. One dies. The other struggles to cope. Meh.

  • Trust Exercise ♥

General confusion. No thanks.

  • We Set Fire to the Dark ♥♥

Beautiful writing. Just meh to me.

  • Once Ghosted. Twice Shy ♥♥♥♥ (I revisited after DNF’ing months ago!)

Hue’s Reviews: Once Ghosted, Twice Shy

  • Looking for Lorraine (Nonfiction Favorite!) ♥♥♥♥♥

I fell in love. It’s worth a view or listen. She’s influenced me as I write, as I love, and as I live.

  • The Wedding Date ♥♥♥

Okay. Just okay. I’m not a major fan of romance. But, I’ll read the genre, if compelled. The one thing I would like Guillory to do is to pick one character and use first-person perspective only. Otherwise, I find relating to characters difficult when using omniscient pov. That’s my primary con to her books. I do like them, though, and cannot wait to read her third book, The Wedding Party.

DNF’d

Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)

Great premise. Confusing. Hard to keep attention. #sorrynotsorry (No Stars)

Livey3

cropped-girl2.jpg

3 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up

  1. Spinning is waiting for me! I want to read a few novels first to cleanse myself after the reading rush.
    I’ve hear Wicked Fox is confusing from some people. I’ve also heard from some people who liked it, so I’m nervous to see which way I fall.

    Like

    1. I heard both about Wicked Fox. I honestly gave it a chance because I like the cover and the premise thrilled me. Oh well…

      Spinning is a good memoir in graphic novel form. It has its heartwarming and heartbreaking moments too.

      Like

Comments are closed.